Technagora

Icon

A Tech-Econ Mashup with a Libertarian Flavor

Spotify vs. Pandora, and the Indecisive Listener

Tech geeks across the web have been wetting their collective pants in anticipation over the American release of Spotify. This up-and-coming free music-streaming service that blends the best of iTunes, iMeem, Grooveshark, Last.fm, Pandora, and all the other popular music services. I however, remain unconvinced.

I’m stuck on Pandora because I dislike having to mess around with playlists. I like typing in a name and just letting the machine do its thing. Granted, sometimes Pandora gives me very odd choices (like Hanson on a station seeded with the Rolling Stones and STP, what??), but usually I just enjoy the passive listening experience. If I don’t like a song, I hit “next,” and let the algorithm decide for me.

I guess my inclination towards Pandora says more about me than it does about music streaming apps. It’s just that…  playlists require a level of decisiveness that I just don’t have when it comes to the little things in life. I use the “shuffle” and “random” settings on every music player I’ve ever had. I’m a go-where-life-takes-you kind of person, I suppose.

Filed under: Computers and Software, Uncategorized, , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Daniel says:

    Pandora is indeed nice for those of us devoted to taking the path of least resistance, but on the other hand…

  2. Michelle says:

    I like to think of those “Hanson” moments as mutations; Pandora’s attempt at mutations, serving the function of determining whether or not your musical tastes have evolved in any direction (granted, from RS to Hanson would be quite the evolutionary leap).
    That said, I LOVE grooveshark for the reason that it combines the ability to listen to almost any track you want, but also allows the one-track/artist radio station.

  3. Skip says:

    I like pandora, mainly because like life wandering around is a great way to find things.

Leave a Reply

Whenever you find that you are on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect.
-Mark Twain

@LibbyJ on Twitter

Libby's Delicious Bookmarks

