Technagora

Icon

A Tech-Econ Mashup with a Libertarian Flavor

R.I.P.: MPC Computers

Via Slashdot: MPC Computers, formerly known as MicronPC, has announced plans to liquidate their assets and go out of business. Granted, this isn’t earth-shattering news, but it does resonate with me slightly – my very first computer was a Micron. I bought it in 2000, when I was a junior in high school. I’d saved my money from my crappy job at Wal-Mart and bought the only Micron (or non-HP or -Compaq) model that Best Buy carried. From then on, I spent my weeknights enjoying hours upon hours of AIM-chatting and Napster file sharing, using K-Mart’s free Bluelight internet service.

I had got myself a decent machine. An 800 MhZ AMD Duron Processor. 64MB of RAM (later upgraded to a hefty 256MB). An 8MB graphics card. An 8x CD-RW drive. A 30GB hard drive. And the ultimate in computer productivity: Windows Millenium Edition (oh, wait…). Back in my days as a computer science student, I used to become annoyed when professors would speak about their first computers as if they were astoundingly primitive. I’m now old enough to appreciate the ever-increasing pace of technological progress.

Good bye, MPC. Thanks for the memories.

Filed under: Tech Biz, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Whenever you find that you are on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect.
-Mark Twain

@LibbyJ on Twitter

Libby's Delicious Bookmarks

